The Un-Player

.
.
In the Olden Days
I owned a
record player
And records.
.
It came
To be,
That my
Record player
Wouldn’t play,
Due to a
Loose wire
Or something.
.
Three year old
David
Was delighted
When his Daddy,
With his
Degree
In physics,
And his
Reputation
for being
Able to
Fix anything,
Said that
He would
Fix it,
And David
Could help.
.
David was
Not amused
When the
Restored
Record player
Un-played
Records.
David was
Furious.
.
I confess,
that I was
Amused,
For almost
Five minutes.
.
Our Hero,
My husband,
His Daddy,
The Musician
Scientist,
Soldered
The wire
To the
Wrong spot,
Or something.
He would not
Take the
Un-player
Apart, again.
.
It was another
Four years
Before
The Boys
And I
Were able
To hear
Beethoven
Frontwards
.
The new,
Working,
Record Player
Was sold,
Along with
Our house,
And, almost,
Everything
Else, to
Finance
Our move
To Japan.
.
.
Bear … 07.14.2014
ⓒ Bearspawprint
This incident really happened, but was a long time ago, in another life-time. That old record player un-played, for ever after. Perhaps it was just a mistake, or perhaps it was done as a joke, or perhaps it was done to hear the backwards recordings that were reputed to be on some popular records. I don’t know, I suppose I will never know, for sure. I do still own a few records from that era, which was thirty, forty and fifty years ago. I don’t recall the final fate of the Un-player.
.
.

6 comments on “The Un-Player

  1. Robert says:

    A lovely trip down memory lane. I recall some pieces of classical music has to be recorded on multiple records 🙂

    Like

    • Recorded on multiple records then reduced to one record to get multiple tracks into two stereo tracks? If so, I hadn’t thought about that, but oldest son (the 3yr old) was a techie, even then, and would have been aware of recording techniques…. He is still tech savvy about everything, especially music. ..

      Or because they were too long, time wise? Does all of the 9th fit on front and back of one record?

      Like

Reply:

