Bamboo in Green and Blue

BAMBOO, EARLY DECEMBER, NORTH EAST FLORIDA

Bamboo in Green and Blue  ⓒBearspawprint2014

Bamboo in Green and Blue ⓒBearspawprint2014

The bamboo planted outside a room on the north side of the house is watered by grey water from the washing machine.  My beautiful bamboo provides shade in summer, mesmerizing dancing shadows across the windows, and in winter is an effective windbreak. ⓒBearspawprint2014

 

 

8 comments on “Bamboo in Green and Blue

  1. Bill Hayes says:

    Great photograph! In Japan they say that the safest place in an Earthquake, is by mature Bamboo.

    Like

    • Likely mature bamboo is not in or adjacent to tall buildings.

      Do you live in Japan?

      Like

      • Bill Hayes says:

        No I don’t live in Japan, but I have been there about 20 times. Great Place – very different to Florida. But it can get just as hot and sultry. i have never been to North Florida, would love to.

        Like

        • 20 times? That seems like a lot of back and forth, to me. I’ve only been to Japan once.

          Visiting as a tourist or for business or study or living anywhere, even for a short while, are all quite different experiences. Which have you done? Do you have roots? or a homebase? or are you a Modern Nomad?

          Like

          • Bill Hayes says:

            I work in the film business which has taken me to extraordinary places. Stuck in the UK most of the time. Off to Bangladesh in January.

            Like

          • Stuck? There is much to admire in UK, including the countryside views, education available, good humor and perseverance in hardship of people, architecture, especially religious and residential, sea-faring accumulated knowledge and lore, excellent tailors, … and much that I am too ignorant to know about or maybe I am not planning to write an essay 🙂 And I am not a Britophile 🙂

            Like

          • January is soon. Very soon.

            The articles you’ve written and posted on your blog reveal the U.K. to also be an extraordinary place.

            Like

    • PS I meant to say thank you, also. Thank you. 🙂

      Like

Reply: