Sorting Time

.
.
Fun? Fun?
What is this
Concept, fun?
I know what is
Fun for you.
I know what is
Fun for small boys.
I know what is
Fun for little girls.
I know fun for babies.
I know what is
Fun for those
For whom I care.
But first person fun,
Is there such?
Is it amusement?
Does fun create happy?
What do I enjoy?
Is there anything
Special I like to eat?
We have been married
For a long time.
Perhaps you know,
As I do not?
I know what you like.
Was that fun for me?
It was fun for you.
Is there an activity
That gives me pleasure?
Is there a song
That makes me smile?
Who knows?
Not you, my love,
I think, not you.
Oh, you don’t
Know what I
Am speaking of?
Would care to
Venture a guess?
No? Ahh, you do not
Care at all what
I might consider
To be fun?
I remember what
I thought was fun,
For me,
When I was young.
I do recall
Many hours
Of delightful
Fun created for children.
Oh, my dearest love,
At what time were
You and I happiest?
Was there ever
A time that was
Fun for you that
Was also fun for me?
Does that matter?
Do I matter?
I cannot remember
Fun outside
The presence
Of children.
Do you? Can you
Remember when
I smiled? I smiled
With the children.
I know I can laugh.
I remember I laughed
With delight
When you pantomimed
A humming bird,
When we played
A game with the youngest.
Now I weep with regret.
No other memories
Of fun and laughter
Pass through the
Trimming blades
Of my grief.
.
Bear…10.24.2015
ⓒBearspawprint2015

GRANNY with Photographer reflected twice in the sunglasses ⓒBackSeatPhotography2014

GRANNY with Photographer reflected twice in the sunglasses ⓒBackSeatPhotography2014

8 comments on “Sorting Time

  1. Nancy Gear says:

    Most of your poems cause my heart to ache — a dry, dull ache — wishing I could ease your pain, and guilt for not doing more. And admiration for your courage and writing. But this one brought tears of love and sympathy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Sweetness.

      To reply at all takes courage. Thank you for yours, my Sweet Little Sister.

      We all have our pains and sorrows, tragedies, hidden or known.

      You have experienced more than your share.

      Yet, despite everything, from the glorious depths of your soul, you spread joy and love and beauty all around, like a beautiful glowing spirit flower.

      Like

  2. willowdot21 says:

    Love that photo SW

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cindy knoke says:

    Oh I am so sorry. You are lovelly my dear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Cindy, slide back over to Bump Onna Log’s assessment, purty please, and read Rezinate’s comment. I feel much better now 🙂

      In the cabin we rented, I left out stuff for the pack rat … several items to see which he would choose … the grown-ups threw things at him … sometimes he liked those things better than what he had … that REALLY made ’em mad … 🙂

      Like

Reply:

