OH! My Achin’ Back … It Thinks Too Much

I know why my back
Hurts so much.
My spinal cord,
And ganglia,
Do most of
My remembering
And responding
And even the
Vestigial thinking
That is required
To stimulate
New ganglia to form.

That is also why
I am hyper-reflexive.
Nothing has to
Go all the way
To what is left
Of my brain.

I think maybe
I speak entirely
With the assistance
Of ganglia of the
Vegas nerve.
My voice runs
To my heart,
But has no access
To my brain.

This rethinking
Of neurological
Anatomy explains
A great deal.
I am actually
A dinosaur.
It is good to know
There is a reason
For my behavior.

Bear … 08.09.2014
โ“’ Bearspawprint 2014

20 comments on “OH! My Achin’ Back … It Thinks Too Much

  1. Lisa says:

    Wow! I thought the same thing today! My back was just screaming at me! I told myself that he more I work it the less it will hurt and there’s a reason for it. That was so awesome Bear! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Sometimes the more you work it the more it will spasm and hurt!! It is a difficult balance to find. I am so sorry your back is screaming.

      I don’t know your exact problem, but if you can somehow manage it so that the spasming pain stops and the muscles relax enough, and you can tolerate lying flat enough, knees bent and supported, sometimes that will allow the vertebrae to line up enough to allow the inflammation to go down and relieve pressure on whatever nerve is being impinged … it is the one that is screaming. Sometimes a hot shower or heating pads will help with that relaxing. For some people massage helps (for me massage only makes it worse) some people like a chiropractor or doctor visit (I have had two surgeries that DID help… I waited years and years before I asked for help) or acupuncture or meditation and depending on what or personal chemistry allows and you medical practitioner recommends, perhaps certain meds or a brace …. Or none of the above or something else. Wonder if it is related to the car wreck so many years ago or some other accident or fall or toting babies or just daily wear and tear?

      I am very sorry your back hurts, but glad that you can still smile. YOU are awesome, Sister Dinosaur ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • Lisa says:

        Hahaha! This is why I love you. I think it’s all of the above. I will most definitely put all your tips into action so I can get stronger. I keep telling myself use them or lose them like my sister told me to. XXXXX

        Like

        • Not your back … too much use and you loose the use. After babies, backs get hurt because the back gets used INSTEAD of the abdomen. Work those abs, work those thighs, not your back. Remember karate? Your back gets worked regardless.

          The take it easy till it feels better part of any back therapy is the only part I can really recommend with any confidence. Don’t do anything that hurts your back. When you feel a little twing, move away from that. Those twinges are nerves telling you they are getting pinched. Chronic pinching or friction on a nerve can cause chronic or permanent nerve damage. Take the pressure off the nerve(s). Don’t work a spasming muscle, find a way to take the pressure off the nerve, relax the muscle, get rid of the inflammation, so the pressure can stay off of the nerve. Depends on what is causing the nerve(s) to be touched in the wrong place by the wrong stuff. Just a tired or overworked muscles, or even pulled muscle is an entirely different feel.

          My husband’s back was broken in a train wreck (locomotive engineer AMTRAK) he wore a brace for six months and has needed no surgeries and has had less back related trouble than I. Yours truely, on the other hand, did not take it easy. I kept that idiot smile on my face so it was assumed I was fine and there were things that needed doing, and …. My surgeon told me that if I did not STOP my back would become a nightmare for him and me both. He was quite worried, as he grew up in a situation where his parent’s did similar chores to what I had to do at that time. Well he was right to worry for me. And I’m gonna worry for you. DON’T OVER WORK YOUR BACK. It will probably be the slowest part of you to recover from last winter. Allow it the time it needs.

          As you know already about nerves from … before. Are you having to drive more with the to and from school trips? The getting in and out of the car? Checking little one’s seat belts? That is a hard one that you can’t omit. But a towel warmed in the microwave behind your back, thrown over the seat, like a thin heating pad, might help a little.

          You’ll get stronger soon enough. Try not to put it all on your back. Thighs. Abs. Glutes.oops they are on the back of you. ๐Ÿ™‚ Brain.

          You are absolutely the most beautiful dinosaur of which I have seen a picture.

          Like

  2. 1EarthUnited says:

    Nicely penned, blame it on those gangly ganglia lol, the heart would have nothing to do with it!
    Perhaps this poem is a prelude to the upcoming theme? Have a lovely day Bear!โ™ฅ

    Like

    • Actually the Vegas nerve does go not only through the throat, working with the swallowing process and speech, it also travels into the upper chest to stimulate the heart and influences breathing. There are ganglia to take care of lots of what we don’t think about.

      There are many who feel that much that we call emotions actually reside in the heart.

      It is HEART that is required for much of empathy or “understanding” in many traditional cultures, including indigenous Americans. HEART is not intellect or just reactive emotion. HEART is HEART. I have been blessed to be allowed to trust when HEART wishes to speak without benefit of too much brain thinking. My brain will think up all sorts of reasonable reasons to be afraid and keep my mouth shut. HEART requires me to speak, sometimes when it is not the personally safest thing to do.

      In my own life, HEART has had everything to do with everything. Everything.

      When HEART speaks there are always those who HEAR what is said. That is the beauty of HEART, whoever is meant to HEAR will HEAR with their own HEART. HEART speaks to HEART. There is an internal understanding.

      The dinosaur foolishness and Crazy Swamp Lady makes it OK for those who are embarrassed or offended. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ :-)Hahahaha One of the best blessings in this life is laughter.

      Thank you Maddie I did have a lovely day. It rained. So needed. Cooled us off by 10F degrees. Need more, but this was nice for today. So yes, I did have a lovely day. I hope yours was pleasant, as well. I also ope and pray for increasing humidity in the much much too dry areas.

      Like

      • 1EarthUnited says:

        Yes I must agree with your assessment, thanks for sharing! The body has innate wisdom, I’ve read that each of our organs express it’s own “mind” but functions systemically as a unit. Like feeling butterflies in one’s stomach or the weather in one’s bones! ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Like

        • ๐Ÿ˜€ Well, some people’s have innate wisdom. Very few innately dislike granulated white sugar. I suspect there is as much variation in physical wisdom and as every other kind. Then there are epigenetics as well as genetics and environment and so on + the influences of our awareness.

          I am really not qualified to say a lot more. I am not medical practitioner nor am I currently certified in anything. I am just a Crazy Old Swamp Lady who sometimes writes replies too long to read and too confusing to understand. That is why I write poetry, by circling around what one wants to say, it can be understood better than trying to explain in A B C or 1 2 3. Directly saying some things obscures that there is more. Our theme one time was MAYA เคฎเคพเคฏเคพ ILLUSION โ€” Music Themes http://wp.me/p2Ce6i-3ie There are links to the other participants, at that time. Eva, is a Reiki practitioner. Willow and Deborah and I are grandmothers, you are W/P acquainted with Johnny, who posted an original song of his own, Lisa was in hospital at that time.

          Thank you for taking the time to read so much and to reply.

          Like

  3. alarmingman says:

    So very, very true

    Like

  4. You are priceless! And loved.

    Like

Reply:

