Civil War in Four Minutes

***        
 A four minute, visual representation of the Civil War.
Note the casualties listed.
1 second = 1 week
7 comments on “Civil War in Four Minutes

  1. No I am not a member of Ladies of the Grand Army but I am a member of the Descendants of the 29th CT Colored Regiment and have gone to many of their activities in Ct and New York. I Live in Brooklyn, NY and was born in 1959. The Halsteads, Gordons and Palmers are my paternal ancestors. My Mom and Dad were both born in 1930 and are now deceased. My brother Stephen was born in 1961. I was born in 1959. Just the two of us.

    I do have original photos of my paternal ancestors taken just after the Civil War and well into the 19th Century. I’m told my pictures are rare because many African American families did not have the means nor access to have professional photos taken of themselves. I’m going to do a an Ancestral Blog so my Followers can see snap shots of my family.

    Thanks for sharing! I look forward to hearing from you soon! Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I tried to access the link but got this message, “”The Civil War in Four Minutes” video is no longer available on our site.”

    In December of 1863 my Great Great Grandfather, William Henry Halstead, who lived in Tarrytown, New York, traveled to New Haven, Connecticut to join the 29th Connecticut Colored Infantry. On his Volunteer Enlistment papers it notes his occupation as a farmer. He enlisted for three years and was discharged on the 24th day of October 1865. He married and had five children. William Henry Halstead passed away in 1888 and was buried in Sleepy Hollow Cemetery in Tarrytown, New York. His wife moved to New York City with her five children. Her children grew up in Harlem and belonged to various organizations such as Odd Fellows, Ladies of the Grand Army of the Republic and the Daughters of New York.
    http://conn29th.org/stories.htm

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have updated The Civil War In Four Minutes from another source. Thank you for the heads up.

      That is interesting about your family. My maternal Great (one great) Grandfather fought, as well. But on the Southern side. :-/ That is where they were. North Carolina and Fannin County, Georgia, in the Blue Ridge Mountains.

      The step-father, with whom I grew up, was in Odd Fellows.

      Are you, yourself, a member of Ladies of the Grand Army of the Republic and Daughters of New York? What are the general parameters for Daughters of New York? I am eligible for various groups (Daughters of the American Revolution, etc., etc.) but I have chosen not to pursue any of them.

      I am a generation behind you. Grandmother, born 1875, married late and was in her fifty four when my mother was born in 1929. My father’s genealogy only the followed the men, but they also averaged two to two and half generations per century, so I may be more than one generation removed from you.

      I would love to sit and look at pictures and documents and mementos and listen to your stories, especially if you have a sister or two to add more high-lights 🙂 I used to have fun getting my husband’s aunts going … oh my!! 🙂 They were so very, very different than my family. You and I are much more similar, in attitude and outlook, than his family and me 🙂

      Thank you for the link. I haven’t been there yet, but will have a look see, shortly.

      Liked by 1 person

Reply:

